Creed 'Human Clay' 20th anniversary vinyl reissue detailed | The Music Universe

Diamond certified album will be available on Oct 11th

Craft Recordings is pleased to announce a vinyl reissue Creed’s Human Clay, in celebration the best-selling album’s 20th anniversary. In stores October 11th, the two LP set is housed in a gatefold jacket and marks the first vinyl availability the album since a limited edition pressing in 1999. Human Clay, which has sold over 20 million units worldwide, includes hits “Higher,” “What If,” “Are You Ready?” and the GRAMMY Award-winning single, “With Arms Wide Open.”

After the success their grunge-imbued debut album, My Own Prison, Creed went back into the studio with producer John Kurzweg (Puddle Mudd, Godsmack) to record material for their follow-up. Though the Tallahassee, FL–based band had already found enormous success on the rock charts with their multi-platinum selling 1997 debut, 1999’s Human Clay would make them mainstream stars. Driven by the anthemic, first single “Higher,” Human Clay debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, and Creed quickly became one the biggest bands in the world. “Higher” spent a whopping 57 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at Number Seven.

In July the following year, the band scored their first No. 1 hit on the pop charts with the third single, “With Arms Wide Open.” The track — which front man Scott Stapp wrote when he found out that he was going to be a father — earned the band a GRAMMY for Best Rock Song in 2001. To-date, Human Clay has sold well over 11 million copies in the U.S., earning a rare Diamond certification from the RIAA, joining the ranks the Beatles’ Abbey Road, Prince’s Purple Rain and Nirvana’s Nevermind. It remains one the top-selling albums all-time in the United States.

Creed’s enormous success is largely due to the prolific writing team Stapp and guitarist Mark Tremonti, who founded the band together in 1993. Their winning combination driving guitar riffs, rousing hooks and introspective lyrics earned them legions loyal fans around the world. Following the release their first two albums, the four-piece — which also included bassist Brian Marshal and drummer Scott Phillips — became the first band ever to have seven consecutive No. 1 singles on Billboard’s Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks. Creed’s third album, Weathered (2001), also debuted at No. 1, and produced several popular singles, including Top Ten hits “My Sacrifice” and “One Last Breath.” Though Creed announced their breakup in 2004, they briefly reunited in 2009 to release Full Circle. Heavier than their previous albums, Full Circle debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200, proving the incredible staying power the band.

2 LP

Side A:

1. Are You Ready?
2. What If
3. Beautiful

Side B:

1. Say I
2. Wrong Way
3. Faceless Man

About the Author